Skip to main content

Our Leadership

Leading the Way

FAI serves Federal acquisition workforce professionals worldwide. The FAI team delivers these services by providing acquisition training, career development opportunities, and related human capital management activities. For more than 35 years as a resource to the Federal Government, FAI continues to foster partnership development opportunities crossing agency boundaries, with the objective of optimizing resources to build a more effective government. Through increased collaboration spanning both the Department of Defense and civilian agency acquisition workforce communities, duplicative developments are being reduced and opportunities to increase efficiencies are being identified – the result being a more efficient and effective government.  

Office of Federal Procurement Policy (OFPP)

OFPP handles procurement policies for the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). The Office of Federal Procurement Policy Act (41 U.S.C. 405(d)) established FAI under OFPP.

The Office of Federal Procurement Policy (OFPP) in the Office of Management and Budget plays a central role in shaping the policies and practices federal agencies use to acquire the goods and services they need to carry out their responsibilities. OFPP was established by Congress in 1974 to provide overall direction for government-wide procurement policies, regulations and procedures and to promote economy, efficiency, and effectiveness in acquisition processes. OFPP is headed by an Administrator who is appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

FAI Board of Directors

The FAI Board of Directors, established by OFPP, represents a variety of agencies and provides input on agencies' needs. The Board works to ensure that FAI fulfills its statutory responsibilities, fulfills certain duties for the Administrator, Office of Federal Procurement Policy as they relate to FAI operations, and to ensure that OFPP's priorities are being addressed.  The Board of Directors charter outlines the duties and responsibilities of the Board.

Board Members

  • Joanie Newhart, Office of Federal Procurement Policy (OFPP)

  • Jeffrey Koses, General Services Administration (GSA)

  • Karla Smith--Jackson, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

  • Michael Derrios, Department of Sate (DOS)

  • Paul Courtney, Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

  • Andrea Brandon, Department of the Interior (DOI)

  • Dr. Angela Billups, Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

  • Jason Barke, Office of Personnel Management (OPM)

  • Nicole Evans, Department of the Treasury (Treasury)

  • Frank Kelley, Defense Acquisition University (DAU)


An official website of the General Services Administration

Looking for U.S. government information and services?